Current People

Yasemin Copur-Gencturk

Yasemin’s research aims to address inequity in mathematics classrooms by identifying ways to improve mathematics teaching and learning. Her work focuses on teachers’ mathematical expertise and its development as well as the ways in which implicit bias occurs in mathematics classrooms.


Taylor Darwin

Taylor’s research focuses on underserved rural STEM educators’ curriculum development, as well as researching what contributes to their pedagogical and content knowledge. Taylor’s research has equally focused on underserved students in mathematics, and increasing their access to mathematical knowledge through technology, personalization, as well as amplifying their voices and experiences. 


Jingxian Li

Jingxian Li is a 4th year Ph.D. student working with Dr. Yasemin Copur-Gencturk. Her research interests center around understanding teacher learning in different context. Her current research focuses on understanding teachers' learning process and their knowledge development in informal learning context, particularly in online learning environments


Ahreum Han

Dr. Ahreum Han (PhD, University of Illinois at Chicago) is a post-doctoral research associate at the University of Southern California’s Rossier School of Education. Her research interests focus on the development of teacher expertise in delivering high-quality mathematics instruction by providing effective teacher learning opportunities.


Atharva Dixit 

Atharva Dixit is a Computer Science graduate student at USC Viterbi School of Engineering with a professional background as a Software Engineer. He is currently a graduate research assistant in the lab and is passionate about leveraging his technical skills to contribute effectively to technology-driven projects.

Past STM Members (Current Affliation)

Dr. John Ezaki (Harvard Strategic Data Project Fellow; Tusla School, OK, USA)

Dr. Sebnem Atabas (University of Saint Joseph)

Dr. Ian Thacker (University of Texas, San Antonio)

Dr. Ibrahim Burak Ӧlmez (MEF University)

Dr. Jessica Rodrigues (University of Missouri)

Dr. Michael Lawson (Kansas State University)

Dr. Tenzin Doleck (Simon Fraser University)